Trinidad wins the Stanford

That other Twenty20 slogfest has just concluded in a gross mismatch at the Stanford CC, Coolidge, Antigua. Trinidad and Tobago has won the 2008 Stanford 20/20 after thrashing Jamaica in the final Sunday night.

Jamaica were sent into bat. Not only did they fail to bat out their twenty overs, but they were dismissed for 91. Marlon Samuels (27) and Xavier Marshall (20) were top scorers, while Jamaican captain Chris Gayle, the only IPL’er in action in this game (Lot 24, Kolkata, $800K) made 6. Dave Mohammed took 4/20 in his four overs while Rayad Emrit bagged 3/18.

T&T needed just 9.2 overs to score 94 runs for the loss of one wicket, Dinesh Ramdin for 11. William Perkins was unbeaten on 50 with Lendl Simmons on 26.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.