The Compton-Miller: Men copy another female innovation

The women were first with a Cricket World Cup, holding their first in 1973 while the men didn’t get started till 1975. Now the men have announced a medal for best player of the England-Australia Test series, five years after the women did the same.

Wednesday’s unveiling at Lord’s of the Compton-Miller Medal, to be awarded to the Player of each Ashes series from now on, is a fitting memorial to two of the great post-WW2 competitors in England-Australia competition. But, as with the World Cup, the women did it first.

In 2000 the Peden-Archdale Medal was struck, to be awarded to the best player of each Australia v England women’s series, though admittedly this encompasses both Tests and ODIs. The medal is named after the two captains of the first England v Australia women’s Test match in 1934, namely Betty Archdale and Margaret Peden.

Here’s the item I wrote for CricInfo when the Peden-Archdale was awarded for the second time in July 2001, won by Australian all-rounder Karen Rolton.

But getting back to the men for a minute, I think it would be fun to make up a retrospective list of likely candidates for the Compton-Miller in Ashes series past… right back to 1877! If you have any thoughts, drop in a comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.