Midwinter-Midwinter 2009 final points tally

As announced on Twitter last Monday morning following the conclusion of the Fifth Test, Graeme Swann made a late run to win the 2009 Midwinter-Midwinter by one point.

On day four at The Oval, Swann earned 3 points following his 2 and 1 on the two previous days to finish the series with a total of nine points. Mike Hussey scored two points on Sunday for his backs-to-the-wall hundred, with one point to Steve Harmison.

The Midwinter-Midwinter is the best on ground (BoG) award for the best player for both sides across the whole Ashes Test series. It is determined by me on the basis of deciding the three best players each day on a 3-2-1 basis. If a day is shortened for any reason (eg bad weather, end of game), then less votes will be allocated, either 2-1 or 1 only, depending on the number of overs bowled and the state of play. The prize for winning the Midwinter-Midwinter is the honour of being named the winner of the Midwinter-Midwinter. There is no actual trophy or medal.

Past winners: 2005 – Shane Warne; 2006-07 – Shane Warne.

The final tally:

9 – Graeme Swann (England);
8 – Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood (England), Michael Clarke (Australia);
7 – Andrew Strauss (England);
6 – James Anderson, Andrew Flintoff (England), Ben Hilfenhaus, Marcus North, Peter Siddle (Australia);
4 – Brad Haddin, Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting (Australia);
3 – Matthew Prior, Jonathan Trott (England), Nathan Hauritz, Michael Hussey (Australia);
2 – Ian Bell, Alistair Cook, Graham Onions (England), Stuart Clark (Australia);
1 – Steve Harmison, Kevin Pietersen (England), Mitchell Johnson, Shane Watson (Australia).
0 – Ravi Bopara, Monty Panesar (England), Phil Hughes, Graham Manou (Australia).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.