Steve Smith wins the 2017-18 Midwinter-Midwinter

Australian captain Steve Smith is the winner of theĀ Midwinter-Midwinter for 2017-18.

Smith accumulated the most points during the 2017-18 Ashes for the Best-on-Ground awarded on each day of each of the five Tests as announced on the @rickeyrecricket Twitter account.

Smith (who scored 687 runs at an average of 137.4 with three hundreds, best 239) registered points on an amazing nine days out of 25, with three points on the daily 3-2-1 system on three occasions. He received 17 points.

Runner-up was David Warner with 14 points, followed by Josh Hazlewood with 10. The top Englishman was Joe Root with 7 points.

Full tally:
17 – Steve Smith.
14 – David Warner;
10 – Josh Hazlewood;
9 – Shaun Marsh;
8 – Usman Khawaja;
7 – Mitchell Marsh, Joe Root;
6 – Alastair Cook, Pat Cummins, Dawid Malan;
5 – James Anderson, Mitchell Starc, James Vince:
4 – Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Nathan Lyon;
3 – Cameron Bancroft, Mark Stoneman;
2 – Moeen Ali, Tim Paine, Chris Woakes;
1 – Tom Curran, Craig Overton;
0 – Jake Ball, Jackson Bird, Mason Crane, Peter Handscomb.

In total, Australians scored 85 points to England’s 46.

The full spreadsheet of the daily scores can be seen here.

An explanation of the Midwinter-Midwinter, its background, the scoring system and past winners can be seen here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.