Previews: India v Ireland, England v Sri Lanka, South Africa v West Indies

The weather forecast is cloudy but fine for the Pretoria/Tshwane region for Thursday’s second round of matches in the 2005 Women’s Cricket World Cup. Continue reading “Previews: India v Ireland, England v Sri Lanka, South Africa v West Indies”

Preview: Australia v New Zealand

The finalists from the 2000 Women’s Cricket World Cup, Australia and New Zealand, meet at the LC de Villiers Oval, University of Pretoria, in the second round of the 2005 World Cup on Thursday March 24. Continue reading “Preview: Australia v New Zealand”

No results on day one

The first round of the World Cup resulted in all matches being classed as “no result” as rain at lunch prevented the continuation of play. Continue reading “No results on day one”

Previews: South Africa v Ireland, New Zealand v West Indies, India v Sri Lanka

Previews of Tuesday’s opening day action between South Africa and Ireland, New Zealand and the West Indies, and India and Sri Lanka. Continue reading “Previews: South Africa v Ireland, New Zealand v West Indies, India v Sri Lanka”

Australia the bookies favourite

It’s probably no great surprise to say that Australia are clear favourites with the bookmakers to win the 2005 Women’s Cricket World Cup, which starts in South Africa today. Continue reading “Australia the bookies favourite”


New South Wales’ mighty victory in the 2005 Pura Cup final represents one of the great comebacks of shield cricket.

They were gone for all money against Tasmania a few weeks ago before Stuey MacGill ripped through the Tigers’ batting. That kept them alive in the finals race. Last week they knocked off Victoria and Queensland beat WA, boosting NSW from third place to second.

On Sunday, the Queensland hoodoo continued. They have never beaten New South Wales in a shield final. This time, the Blues won at the Gabba by one wicket with two days to spare.

Great work, guys. Savour the scorecard and check out the Blues website.

Let’s hear it for: Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Ed Cowan, Brad Haddin, Phil Jaques, Simon Katich, Jason Krejza, Grant Lambert, Stuart MacGill, Greg Mail, Matthew Nicholson, Aaron O’Brien, James Packman, Matthew Phelps, Dominic Thornely. Amazingly, they did it without a single appearance from Michael Clarke, Glenn McGrath or Brett Lee!

Preview: Australia v England

Australia plays England on Tuesday March 22, the opening day of the 2005 Women’s Cricket World Cup at Tshwane University of Technology (formerly Technikon Pretoria) Ground A. Continue reading “Preview: Australia v England”

Too hot for whom?

After the outstanding success at staging the first ICC v ACC tsunami relief match at very short notice in Melbourne in January, I was disappointed to read of the cancellation of the return game, originally planned for February 13, then pushed out to April. However the reason given by [insert the cap he’s wearing today] Jagmohan Dalmiya on Sunday is totally pitiful. Continue reading “Too hot for whom?”

Pakistan wins first 20-overs-a-side international

Pakistan has beaten New Zealand by five runs in the first 20-overs-a-side international at the Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad.

It happened on November 23, 1984. Bad weather delayed the start of the game, which was set at twenty overs for each team when it finally got under way. Pakistan made 157 for 5, New Zealand were held to 152 for 7.

Despite Mudassar Nazar’s four-over haul of 4/27, it was Saleem Malik (41 from 40 balls) who was named Man of the Match. See the scorecard for further details.

There were no silly names like “Twenty20” in those days. Remember this as New Zealand faces Australia for its second 20-overs international in two decades tomorrow at Eden Park.

Hellas the champions!

It’s probably the only time that indoor cricket is officially embraced by the outdoor game. The European Cricket Council’s annual indoor championship was decided on Sunday in the Danish city of Herning. Congratulations to Greece, who beat the host nation by three runs in the final. Continue reading “Hellas the champions!”